School of Chemical Sciences


Course coordinators

Our School of Chemical Sciences course coordinators are happy to help with enquiries about courses and coursework.

Year 1 courses


For advice about Year 1 courses, or for timetable or enrolment problems, contact:

Dr Kaitlin Beare (CHEM 110)
Phone: +64 9 373 7599 ext 88292
Email: chem110@auckland.ac.nz or k.beare@auckland.ac.nz

Dr David Salter (CHEM 120 and 150)
Phone: +64 9 373 7599 ext 84957
Email: d.salter@auckland.ac.nz

Dr Malini Arewgoda
Phone: +64 9 373 7599 ext 87318
Email: c.arewgoda@auckland.ac.nz

 

Year 1 courses
CHEM 100/100G Molecules that Changed the World Dr Peter Swedlund p.swedlund@auckland.ac.nz
CHEM 150 Concepts in Chemistry Dr Malini Arewgoda c.arewgoda@auckland.ac.nz
CHEM 110 Chemistry of the Living World Dr Kaitlin Beare chem110@auckland.ac.nz; k.beare@auckland.ac.nz
CHEM 120 Chemistry of the Material World Dr David Salter d.salter@auckland.ac.nz
Top

Year 2 courses


The coordinator is available for consultation on all matters concerning Year 2 courses:

Dr David Ware
Phone: +64 9 373 7599 ext 88270
Email: d.ware@auckland.ac.nz

 

Year 2 courses
CHEM 210 Physical and Materials Chemistry Dr Duncan McGillivray d.mcgillivray@auckland.ac.nz
CHEM 220 Inorganic Compounds: Structure, Bonding and Reactivity Prof. Penny Brothers p.brothers@auckland.ac.nz
CHEM 230 Molecules for Life: Synthesis and Reactivity A/Prof Brent Copp b.copp@auckland.ac.nz
CHEM 240 Measurement and Analysis in Chemistry and Health Sciences Dr Bruno Fedrizzi b.fedrizzi@auckland.ac.nz

 

Top

Year 3 courses


The coordinator is available for consultation and advice on all matters concerning Year 3 courses:

Dr David Ware
Phone: +64 9 373 7599 ext 88270
Email: d.ware@auckland.ac.nz

 

Year 3 courses
CHEM 310

Structural Chemistry and Spectroscopy

Dr Geoff Waterhouse g.waterhouse@auckland.ac.nz
CHEM 320 Design and Reactivity of Inorganic Compounds

Prof L. James Wright

lj.wright@auckland.ac.nz
CHEM 330 Contemporary Organic Chemistry DProf Margaret Brimble m.brimble@auckland.ac.nz
CHEM 340 Advanced Analytical Chemistry A/Prof Gordon Miskelly g.miskelly@auckland.ac.nz
CHEM 350 Topics in Chemistry (Modular Course) Dr Jóhannes Reynisson j.reynisson@auckland.ac.nz
CHEM 380 Materials Chemistry Dr Tilo Söhnel t.soehnel@auckland.ac.nz
CHEM 390 Medicinal Chemistry Dr Viji Sarojini v.sarojini@auckland.ac.nz
CHEM 392 Issues in Drug Design and Development Dr Viji Sarojini v.sarojini@auckland.ac.nz
Top

Postgraduate courses


The coordinators are available for consultation and advice on all matters concerning postgraduate courses:


Dr Vijayalekshmi Sarojini

Phone +64 9 373 7599 ext 83387
Email: v.sarojini@auckland.ac.nz
Food Science programme

 

Postgraduate courses
CHEM 690 A & B Graduate Diploma Dissertation    
CHEM 691A & B PG Diploma Dissertation    
CHEM 701 PG Topics in Chemistry 1    
CHEM 702 PG Topics in Chemistry 2 Prof Penny Brothers p.brothers@auckland.ac.nz
CHEM 710 Structural and Computational Chemistry Dr Geoff Waterhouse g.waterhouse@auckland.ac.nz
CHEM 720 Advanced Inorganic Chemistry Assoc Prof Christian Hartinger c.hartinger@auckland.ac.nz
CHEM 730 Modern Methods for the Synthesis of Bioactive Molecules DProf Margaret Brimble m.brimble@auckland.ac.nz
CHEM 735 Advanced Medicinal Chemistry Dr David Barker d.barker@auckland.ac.nz
CHEM 738 Biomolecular Chemistry Dr Ivan Leung i.leung@auckland.ac.nz
CHEM 740 Current Topics in Analytical Chemistry A/Prof Gordon Miskelly g.miskelly@auckland.ac.nz
CHEM 750 Advanced Topics in Chemistry 1 Dr Zoran Zujovic  z.zujovic@auckland.ac.nz
CHEM 751 Advanced Topics in Chemistry 2 Dr Zoran Zujovic  z.zujovic@auckland.ac.nz
CHEM 770 Advanced Environmental Chemistry Dr Peter Swedlund p.swedlund@auckland.ac.nz
CHEM 780 Advanced Materials Chemistry Dr Tilo Söhnel t.soehnel@auckland.ac.nz
CHEM 793 BSc(Hons) Dissertation in Chemistry Assoc Prof Christian Hartinger c.hartinger@auckland.ac.nz
CHEM 795 Research Methods in Chemistry Assoc Prof Christian Hartinger c.hartinger@auckland.ac.nz
CHEM 796 MSc Thesis in Chemistry Assoc Prof Christian Hartinger c.hartinger@auckland.ac.nz 
Top